The Albertson Public Library opened on November 8, 1923 at the corner of Central and Rosalind in Downtown Orlando. Check out the progress through the years and the various building stages.
Albertson Public Library 1923-1964
ABOVE: Painting by James Stoll shows the area surrounding the Albertson Public Library in 1945. West of the library are the Salvation Army Citadel and Chamber of Commerce Building, further west on the other side of Main Street (now Magnolia) is the old Court House with the new court house behind it. On Wall Street is Orlando Utilities, the Young Women’s Community Club and annex and the First Church of Christ Scientist. Just north of the church on Rosalind you can see Memorial Junior High School.
VIEW blueprints of the Albertson Public Library.
Orlando Public Library 1966-1985
The Albertson library was demolished in 1964 making way for the new 60,000 square foot Orlando Public Library at Ten North Rosalind Avenue.
ABOVE: Architect’s rendering of the 1966 building. The library entrance on Rosalind Avenue showing the ramp to the front doors of the library. The old check in area can be found in the Children’s Library in the alcove next to the computers.
ABOVE: Post card 1966 Orlando Public Library showing the ramp on Rosalind Avenue to the entrance.
Orlando Public Library Expansion 1985
Several years after the opening of the 1966 Orlando Public Library, the need for additional space became apparent. A referendum to spend $22 million on the expansion of the library was approved by the voters in September 1980.
ABOVE: Flyer handed out at the grand opening of the newly expanded Library building on May 29, 1985.
The expansion and remodel of the old 1966 building was completed in April 1986.
ABOVE: Photo postcard showing the exterior of the Main Library, viewed from Rosalind and Central.
Read about the 1986 Grand Opening Celebration.
EXPLORE MORE photos and memories of the History of the Orange County Library System.
Peruse the images below under Attachments.